truanthoughts

Everywhere and Every way.


Truant Travelogue: Planes and Trains

As much as a third of my trips are spent in planes, trains and buses. It, of course is a matter of intent, since to get somewhere, you have to travel via something.

On that account, most introspection and appreciation, I believe, is done in those moments of ‘peace’ and ‘boredom’. The excitement of seeing the “Great Wall of China” is appreciated and interpreted in the moments past seeing the majesty of the walls. We tell ourselves, “Oh what a wonderful and meaningful experience that was” and “I’ll really treasure that for days and years and memories to come”, as we scratch off one from our bucket list or travel-to lists.

It is with a sad heart, that I would say that I have come to the point that I have enjoyed the planes and trains and buses more than the seeing of the sight itself. I have found that walking through the Gwanghamun Gate, climbing the Stairs to Heaven, wandering the National Mall, have brought me nothing but callused toes and miscellaneous aches and pains on my legs. It is on that subway ride home that I realize how wonderful a culture the Koreans have, and how wondrous nature and its connection to religion is and how historical and exciting the story of “freedom” and America is.

It was also where I would meet the most interesting of people. An African American man complaining of getting lost in his own home and asking me, a random tourist for help since I had a metro map. A middle aged Indian man peddling his religious charms to ALL (he said he didn’t care if you were Christian or Pagan or Protestant) people and believed that people needed something to look to in our times today. An emo girl in a shirt and a skirt clothing asking for money, and I kid you not, to be able to get enough money to go to a monastery and become a nun.

These tidbits during travel are where I realize the fragility of human perspective and how wider the world is and how wonderful each shade and shape of nations are. Okay, the plane’s landing. They say to switch off large electronic devices. 10 hours of introspection led me right back outside myself. Seatbelt light is on, the stewardess is slowly headed my way. God I love to travel.



Leave a comment

About Me

Just a frustrated writer and rhymer. Level 32 human being fond of talking about mundane things and existential philosophy. I work as a physician by the beach, and yes, I champion public health.